Do you pray for a holy death? You should. You should pray for a holy death. Did you know that every time you pray a Hail Mary, you are praying for a holy death? ….

I used to be able to do this whole homily in character as it was the only homily +Fr. McInniny+, may he rest  in peace , ever gave.  But it wasn’t until I was an adult that I came to truly appreciate the content.

We don’t want death to take us by surprise. We should desire to be able to be surrounded by our family praying the Divine Mercy Chaplet and the Rosary, to receive Anointing of the Sick, Absolution, and Viatacum to strengthen us for the journey.

When my husband deployed, each time he deployed, we were required to plan his funeral, just in case… one day… some men in Class A uniforms showed up at my door.

In an earthly sense, Bill is well prepared for death (he tries to keep spiritually ready too). He has planned his funeral, he has a will, he has provided for our future financial needs. After sitting through a variety of funerals, I decided to start a Pinterest board so there would be some guidelines for my family when it’s my time to go. Amazingly, this board has gotten quite a bit of interest from my friends.

My kids and I frequently joke about my funeral. For example, they know that I must not be cremated so I can get out of my coffin and put a stop to any nonsense they allow. We’ve discussed having a karaoke of bad church music at the reception rather than during the funeral as is usual nowawadays. We’ve joked that one twin will need to come down off the altar to perform a duet of “Come Sail Away” by Styx as the Communion Meditation.

All joking aside, prepare for a holy death.

